Cancelling caroling

1:30 pm this afternoon – telling my colleague I will be back in just a moment and – nothing. I smiled at her, she back at me. I tried again – nothing. She laughed, I shook my head and smiled.

Went for a walk and passed the people who I know, everyone calling out my name, greetings. I can’t return any of them. No “hello!s”, no “are you ready for the season?s”, no “you are look great today!s”.

I’ve lost my voice.

Smiling, waving and nodding like crazy!

Answered the phone and let out a series of…squeaks. Lucky for me the person calling knew right away it was me and she started laughing. I tried to tell her “I’m really good. I’m smiling. I just can’t speak.”

Or sing or laugh loudly.

I love to talk. I love to sing. I love to laugh loudly.

My colleague is now calling me “Squeaky”. Which is a side-ways step from “Curly” which is what another colleague calls me. Which is about the same as “Smiley” which is what people around the building call me.

On the upside: perhaps it is time for me to sit down and shut up?

On another upside: I can finally communicate with that door hinge – I’m sure it’s been trying to tell me something.

Here is another: I love hot tea. Now people think I have a reason for keeping for myself!

And another: Hot baths are great for lost voices.

But, if you do find my voice, would you please send it back my way?

And yes, this means tonight’s carol sing is cancelled. Sorry.

 

 

 

Published by bex

I am legal in my country of origin.

4 thoughts on “Cancelling caroling

  1. Hopefully your voice finds you or going through airport security might end up being very interesting…

    And I did always think door hinges had something important to tell us. After all, they’re always around and they see so much more than we do.

    1. answering the phone and making calls today was very interesting.

      door hinges and light bulbs – if they ever decided to take over the world, we’d be messed.

    1. i hope so!
      thanks very much for the good thoughts!

      i’m just happy that this cold hasn’t effected/affected my typing – not being able to talk OR type would be the absolute worst.

Leave a comment