Lucky me!

A dear friend was in the area and invited me to be her guest to see the Georgia O’Keeffe exhibit!

Well laid out floor plan and information made this exhibit a delight to attend. The information was informative and direct and the short film was concise and well done. 

The Freudian analysis of O’Keeffe’s work was addressed directly, without being overbearing, tracing it from the origins to her reaction and disavowal of such a reading. For me, I liked the reminded that Freudian analysis and readings aren’t always appropriate or true.

The exhibit was laid out in a good, accessible formations. Sigh lines were mostly clear and it was possible to get very close to the works. 

One of the things I enjoyed most about the exhibit was the opportunity to see more of O’Keefe’s abstract works, I’m much more familiar with her works featuring concrete figures that have abstract elements. 

This exhibit was interesting and enjoyable and I highly suggest seeing it.

 

