Catch up post

Pondering why I don’t write or talk about the things that most occupy my brain – they are trite, boring, no one wants to hear about my radical theories or the things I’m wondering about. Our passions are boring and other people’s passions are exceedingly boring.  So, I don’t talk or write about those things, I don’t wish bore.

Away this week in Port Hope – spent Wednesday night to Thursday, had dinner a fabulous place called “The Palms”.  Interior – Morocan inspired and two —

oooh!  “Epic” by Faith No More is on the radio!

– people said how much it reminded them of “Casablanca”.  It didn’t remind me of “Casablanca”, but I get what they meant – “Morocan-theme”.

The food – lovely, crab cakes, salmon on salad, crème brûlée (served too cold – warm it up!).

The wine – yummy, red merlot-shiraz, drinkable and just the right wine for conversation flow.

The waiter – totally hot.

My company – completely unsubtle, seriously, they should have just slipped him my room key and called it a night.  He could hear the remarks – the place wasn’t very big.

But, he didn’t seem offended and had a nice smile, so it is all in good fun.

Lucky for me I don’t embarrass easily.

Catching the hockey game – Canada vs. Russia – after dinner.  Yay!

Early to bed for me.

Up at a reasonable hour and had the most perfect hard-boiled eggs ever.  Seriously, at a Best Western in Port Hope.  Wow!

Snow storm on Thursday did not slow us down.  The workshop was great and not a technical problem.  Drove back in the truck and bed called to me, so straight there, no diversions.

Friday the weather was awful. Very dark, blowing snow, back to bed for one hour only, up again, shoveled the drive, drove to work, by then all the snow either plowed or melted. Patience rewarded, yay!

Finally got my eyebrows done – they rock. A new overnight bag is now in my life.  “Overnight bag” is not a euphemism.  It is really luggage.

Early to bed Friday night – all this talk about norovirus freaks me out.

Saturday climb – complete bust, my climbing partner = hung over.

Two climbs.  Two!

Adjourning for soup and her colour came back, then…I am now the proud owner of new climbing shoes!  Took about an hour (totally frustrated the gentleman with the nice smile and odd sense of humour at MEC). Red and silver = I love them.  My climbing partner also has new shoes.  So, maybe not a lot of climbing, but a lot of energy about climbing.

We are adding another day too – Saturday, Monday and Wednesday.  Yay!

What I learned today: Some instructions are good to follow.

What else I learned today: I read the situation correctly. On all counts. And I’m not alone – on two counts. Hmm.  Interesting.

Published by bex

I am legal in my country of origin.

Leave a comment